Make the most of the Fall

I visited my Family who live in the country and the weather was absolutely stunning. I mean, we have nearly November and today was 17 Celsius! I could go for a long, relaxing walk. What’s best after? Of course thick, creamy pumpkin & pepper soup.
Although I’ve made many recently I decided to show you one of my favourite’s (but I love all of them anyway πŸ™‚ ) I made this one a couple of times, beause I wasn’t really contented when it comes to the flavour. Now I know that pepper in this particular recipe should be raw, crispy and sweet and added at the very end.

Yellow pumpkin – the more the better… at least 0,7-1,0 kg
1-2 carrots
1/2 of leek, white part only
2 big onions
1 big pepper or 2 small, red preferably
4 cloves of garlic – and 1 crushed and added just before blendering
1 bay leaf
1 L of vegetable/chicken stock or simply water
1 cup of whole milk (200 ml) / or cream if you prefer
2-3 Tbs of olive oil
Sea salt, black pepper
* you can also add 1 big potato to get smooth consistency. I skiped.

Peel pumpkin, cut into chunks. Start heating stock / water up. Chop onion and leek, rather finely. Put olive oil in the pan and fry until golden. Set aside. Put pumpkin on the same pan, and fry til softer – add a little amount of water to make it faster. Don’t worry if it tourns out a bit sugary / brown – taste will be great but be careful and do not burn. Slice carrot and put in the boiling stock / water. Add bay leaf BUT only for at least 20 mins – after that time take it out. Otherwise you get unneccesarily strong flavour. Put fried onion and pumpkin in the pot, crushed 4 cloves of garlic and cook until soft. Cool down a bit, add pepper & salt to taste (quite a lot!). Add crushed 1 clove of garlic, chopped pepper and blend everything, to get very smooth soup. If you like creamy flavour – add whole milk or cream. I prefer with milk, adds lovely sweetness. Sprinkle with olive oil. Enjoy!
pumpkin soup 1 pumpkin soup 2

2 thoughts on “Make the most of the Fall

Leave a Reply

