Buckwheat with pumpkin and sage

What I like the most about grains is that you can use any kind you prefer, combine with many herbs such as thyme, rosemary, sage, mint or basil, by adding mushrooms / meat / smoked salmon – you always get a nice and tasty dish. Thanks to my Mum – I know and eat every kind of grains I can get in my shop. You can easy check that even millet groats are eaten by me for a breakfast! Grains are: full of potential, delicious, cheap (!) and HEALTHY. Especially now, when winter is just around the corner, you would like to eat comfort and warming meal and at the same time put bikini on next summer 🙂
Today my latest hit – it’s season for pumpkin. Of course you can bake pumpkin pie or prepare puree – but I wanted something different. And as far as I’m concerned – I found pretty nice combination. Because I used roasted one – I think it would be great with pork, because of the nutty flavour.

150 g roasted buckwheat
Pumpkin – about 300 gramms
4 cloves of garlic
1 small onion – finely chopped
Fresh sage- use as much as you like – I used a lot 🙂
Sea salt, pepper
Sunflower oil for frying
1 tablespoon of unsalted butter/ per 1 person, right before serving.

Cook buckwheat (1:2 proportions to water, always use boiling water. Cook for 12 minutes and then turn gas off. Leave until water absorbed). Meanwhile, chop garlic and onion very finely. Put with 2 tablespoons of sunflower oil in the pan and fry for 2 mins until you smell the flavour. Add pumpkin dices in the pan and fry, until soft and tender ( you can pour 1/2 cup of water when frying). At the end, combine everything with chopped sage, cooked buckwheat, sea salt and pepper. Ad butter at the very end. Sprinkle with sage if you have any lefovers. It’s perfect as a side dish, with red meat. Divine. Enjoy!
DSC02263 kasza dynia 4

Leave a Reply

