Ginger & lemon yoghurt cake

Most of the time I cook for myself. No objective opinions and lack of praises- which is not so unimportant when it comes to my motivation 😉 So when I’m visiting my relatives – My Auntie knows that this is her free-time for reading a book and have a nice cup of coffee. I am in charge from now on and what’s absolutely great – I can cook, bake and do everything – for what will come after. And nothing, really, works for me better.
This time I’ll show you silly simple yoghurt cake, with grated fresh ginger and lemon zest. Scented, tender and melts in the mouth. It won’t get dry next day – I promise. Not too sweet either. Perfect for a tea time. And the preparation is so fast! If you are not a ‘baking-loving’ person – I assume you will become one after trying my one-pot yoghurt cake. You need only a bowl and a whisk. For 20 cm cake tin.
300 ml of natural yoghurt ( I do not recommend fat-free…)
2 whole eggs
3 egg yolks
2 cups of plain flour (I mesure 1 cup as a amount of 250 ml glass. It’ll be about 130 gramms each)
3/4 (three-quarters) glass of sugar
A thumb-size piece of ginger (not necessarily peeled… I do not peel ginger. I don’t see any rational reason for doing so)
Zest from 1 lemon
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
4-5 tablespoon of sunflower oil

Grate ginger and lemon. Combine everything in a large bowl, using whisk. And that’s pretty much all. Bake for 45 minutes in 180 C, and then for another 10 minutes in 200 C. To make sure it’s ready – use a wooden stick. Simply stick in and check if the end is dry. If yes- perfect. If not- wait 5-10 mins more, and check again. Should be ready this time. I did a very nice icing: combine icing sugar, lemon juice from a half of lemon and a little bit of lemon zest. Should be sticky, not too runny. Enjoy!
jogurtowe z cytryną 5
jogurtowe z cytryna 1 jogurtowe z cytryną 3

2 thoughts on “Ginger & lemon yoghurt cake

    • Cake is very interesting- refreshing, a bit spicy. And lemon, sweet icing… Very nice. My family ate whole one within minutes so I had to make another cake, with prunes and coconut. I’ll show that one in a couple of days. Thank you for visiting!

Leave a Reply

