Coconut cheesecake with dark cocoa bottom

Since weekend I’ve had a WHIM. Ot rather THE whim, because I’ve been thinking about cheesecake. This is my absolutely favourite type of dessert. Love it – with raisins, fruits, plain, with meringue. There is no other type of cake which I adore so much as this one. Unfortunalety in my big family I’m the only one who likes it so badly – so there was no option that my Mom will bake it just for me. Any family meeting is perfect occasions to make a dive into desserts plate for a nice, good piece of chceesecake. When it comes to that if I’m somewhere close – you must be quick or you won’t taste any. I’m just catching up! 🙂
Today I would like to show you setted cheesecake- beautifully looking and tasting very good. Preparation is also quite fast. This is entirely my recipe, exept for the bottom – which is originally my Mom’s. But I did some changes so I think I can name it as my own. The greatest thing is you can skip a FLOUR. Yes, a flour! So if you are on gluten-free diet, this is a very nice treat for you. The bottom is not-so-sweet, a bit bitter even. But don’t worry, It’ll be perfect for sweet bananas as well as coconut filling. If I had sour raspberries or blackcurrants I would use them as better combination… Unfortunately. I’m nearly 340km away from my beloved garden and its fruits. Guys, that really HURTS…

Cocoa bottom (cocoa sponge cake):
5 eggs (my Mom’s free range)
4 heaped tablespoon of good cocoa powder (5, if you skip a flour entirely)
1 heaped tablespoon of flour
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of natural vinegar (apple e.g.)
2 tablespoon of sugar ( I used cane one. If you prefer sweet bottom, add about 5-6 tablespoon)
3 tablespoons od sunflower oil

Cheese filling:
400g of thick cheese (homogenized)
1 nice cup of desiccated coconut
1 glass of milk (250 ml)
150g of sugar
1 tablespoon of vanilla extract (optionally)
2 tablespoon of gelatine powder (at random… I just wanted cheesecake to be fully setted).
1 cup od boiling water
Pinch of sea salt
+ 2 ripe, but not dark bananas+ fresh mint leaves for decoration.
* you can use whatever fruits you like. Raspberries, strawberries, blackcurrants – suit perfectly!

Separate egg yolks and combine with baking powder and vinegar. You will see pure chemistry there – It’ll become very fluffy which is exactly what we need. Whip egg whites up until fluffy and stable. Add a pinch of salt at the and and whip gently. It will protect sponge cake from falling. Add sugar and whip delicately until fully combined. Add cocoa, oil and yolks mixture. Carefully mix everything together and pour into a flat baking tray. Bake in 180 C for about 35 mins. Take it out and cool down.
Soak gelatine powder in the boiling water for a couple of minutes. On the other hand pour a boiling water into the cup with desiccated coconut (as much as it covers a coconut flakes). Leave for 10-15 mins until water absorbed. You will smell divine coconut scent. Meanwhile combine in a bowl: cheese, milk, sugar and vanilla extract. Add desiccated coconut and soaked gelatine. Stir everything and put in the fridge for about 30 mins. It should be half-setted, but not too much (still rather runny).
Slice bananas and lay on the baked bottom. Pour cheesecake filling on the top, trying not to move banana slices. Put in the fridge until fully-setted. You can serve it with hot chocolate sauce – I just thought about one while writing this post 🙂 maybe next time! Enjoy.
sernik kokosowy 1 sernik kokosowy 2

Leave a Reply

